Top 10 90’s Hits

8

October 7, 2013 by benmblackman

Walto

Walto

That @Vicky_Walters asked if anyone wanted to write on her Victoria Writes Blog about Halloween and I said yes, of course. But then I realised I was rubbish at making up spooky stories and joked, ‘I’m better at 90’s pop really’.

‘We should do a top 10.’ She said, so we did…

Can I just say, before we start that this was IMPOSSIBLE. I had a shortlist of 29 songs (which was my initial ‘off the top of my head list’ jotted down in about 32 seconds). And because there are 2 of us and it’s a top 10, I only got to select 5 of my own. Well you try it!

Me

Me

Lastly, it should be noted that I am a ‘bit’ older than Walto so mine concentrate ‘slightly’ more on alcohol than music for some reason?

One of my friends once spoke about splitting up from a long-term girlfriend. 'I probably should have seen the signals when she started listening to this 5 times a day.'

One of my friends once spoke about splitting up from a long-term girlfriend: ‘I probably should have seen the signals when she started listening to this 5 times a day.’

Her: 5. Natalie Imbruglia – Torn

This song was played to death on radio at the time and when I went to New York, I was about 14, I remember hearing it in all the shops I went into there. I just think it’s a great catchy pop song that has stood the test of time. I also still love the album it comes from and think it’s a shame you don’t hear much from her now.

Me: 5. Wet Wet Wet – Love is all around

I was 15 when this was Number 1 for, like, everrrrrr (nearly 4 months) in 1994. It reminds me of drinking cider on the grass in parks on hot evenings (but don’t tell my Mum & Dad that, right)? I saw Marty Pellow perform in Chicago some years later. This has nothing to do with the song but I love Chicago, so there.

Ps. Yesssss, I know it was a cover. Whateverrrrrr.

Her: 4. Oasis – Don’t Look Back In Anger

I was a big Oasis fan as a teenager and still remember the big rivalry there was with Blur at the time. This is my favourite Oasis song even though it doesn’t actually make much sense lyrically but it’s a great rock/pop anthem that you have to sing along loudly to!

Apparently he was a bit 'Messiah' like in his performance?

Apparently he was a bit ‘Messiah’ like in his performance?

Me: 4. Michael Jackson – Earth Song

I can’t remember when this song was out and, to be honest, it’s not really one of my favourites but – it does remind me of one of THE best nights ever. The Brit Awards 1996 was when he performed it and Jarvis Cocker did the mooning ‘n all that. It ended up News at 10 Headline news – ridiculous. I wasn’t there, but my Mum and Dad were away so we had a ‘bit of a do’ in our house that night. (But don’t tell my Mum & Dad, right)?

Her: 3. Britney Spears – Baby, One More Time

I just couldn’t leave this off my top ten, this song was everywhere in the 90’s and still is a classic pop song. I’m pretty much the same age as Ms Spears so I feel like I’ve grown up with her and this song still makes me smile. It is so iconic it’s still referenced today, see The Saturdays latest song for example.

Swag

War er yer loike?

Me: 3. B*Witched – C’est La Vie

Well I was going to go for Wannabe by the Spice Girls but Walto beat me to that (oops, *spoiler alert*) so, I give to you THE most under rated Girl Band of all time – B*Witched. Even the way they spell the name is cool don’t you think? They basically invented Double Denim and the term, ‘ger a loife’.

Her: 2. Alanis Morrisette – You Oughta Know

Alanis’ album Jagged Little Pill was one of the first CD’s I brought and it felt very cool at the time. I loved this angry rock song purely for the singalong power of it, not really ‘getting’ the lyrics until I was older. I remember my mum hated me playing this album as she felt it was ‘screamy’. I still think that album is timeless and holds up today and this is still my favourite from it.

Hot

Hot

Me: 2. Take That – Back for Good

I remember where I was when I heard Gary Barlow say he was afraid the rumours were true (or whatever it was he said). This song was before then, of course, and surely his best ever? What a tune.  Ps. I didn’t like Take That. They were ‘for girls’. I was in my Mum and Dad’s Kitchen with my sister by the way.

Ahaaa

Zig-a-zig-aaaaaaa

Her: 1. Spice Girls – Wannabe

I can’t really describe my love for The Spice Girls. They were my favourite band growing up and I’ve chosen their first hit as my top 90’s song. I went to see their reunion tour and loved how I still know every word to every song they made. To me they are the 90’s, they are my teen years and I will always love them!

Me: 1. Three Lions – Badiel, Skinner, Lightning Seeds

Football has never been as good as when Euro ’96 was in England. It was the hottest summer ever, I had just passed my driving test and we were really good at football (apart from penalties, if your name is Gareth Southgate). Gazza was God and this song was everywhere. Out of car windows as they drove by, in pubs, on my walkman.

Conclusion

1) The 90’s were great and Wannabe was probably the best song ever.

2) If you call it a Top 10 you should probably not count down from 5 twice?

Anyway, big thanks to Vicky for her 5. Go read her blog and find the people who CAN make up Spooky Halloweeny stuff by clicking below!

Victoria Writes

8 thoughts on “Top 10 90’s Hits

  1. […] If you follow us you will soon notice that most of our conversations revolve around music as we seem to like the same tunes and have a fondness for the 90′s era of music as you’ll see from my guest post I was a teenager then and Ben was mostly drunk during this period! He asked me for my top five songs from the 90′s and then picked his and turned it into a funny  post, which you can check out HERE. […]

  2. Thanks for having me Ben, we are music geniuses and finally everyone will know it! 🙂

  3. Angelia Sims says:

    Oh Goodness! You two are funny! This list brings back so many memories. The 90’s! What a decade. 🙂 And as for Spice Girls, I really enjoyed Mel B as a judge on America’s Got Talent this year. She is off the chain! HA.

  4. […] Regular readers of this blog (and let’s be honest*, there are quite literally* millions of you) will recall the absolutely brilliant*** post me and @vicky_walters put together recently with our Top 10 90’s hits. […]

  5. […] that Ben Blackman decided our last music post – the top ten songs of the 90′s – was so *ahem* amazing that we should do a festive version so instead of the usual Sunday […]

Leave a Reply

