NOW THAT’S WHAT I CALL WEDDING RECEPTION

5

September 6, 2014 by benmblackman

Never as good on an iPod

Never as good on an iPod

A few days ago I, rightly, noted ‘People-all-over-the-world…join hands….start a love train, love train’ as the BEST Wedding Reception song, EVER.

A bold claim you might think but I am right, of course, of that there is no doubt.

Following this it was only a natural progression to concur that I should release an album, NOW THAT’S WHAT I CALL WEDDING RECEPTION. I enlisted The Caz to help me, which was lucky because it turns out she is only the (second) best Wedding Reception Song Planner in the world. Apparently, when she’s not planning wedding reception albums she ‘does Marketing for an IT company’.

The Caz Young

The Caz – ‘Um, you’ve got something on your cheek mate’

But don’t let that put you off. In case you’re wondering about her credentials for this project, she needs no introduction other than the fact she is the lady who, straight out of the blocks, suggested Come on Eileen follow my opening gambit of ‘People-all-over-the-world…join hands….start a love train, a love train’ (I don’t care what it’s proper song name is – that is what I will always call it).

“The bit where the slow hand clapping starts!” I said.

“Doo raaaah doo raaaah doooo rahhhhh DOO RAAAAH EY!” She replied – which, I’m pretty sure are the actual words on the album sleeve.

We went on to agree a number of further classics:

Count me in big fella

Count me in big fella

Me: “Black Box – Ride On Time – when the party is really flowing later on?”

The Caz: “Ooooh, deffo! And it won’t be a wedding reception without a Grease Megamix.”

Me: “Jive Bunny ‘for the kids’ (even though we all know none of the kids have a clue).”

The Caz: “Can’t go wrong with a bit of Jive Bunny. I draw the line at The Ketchup Song though.”

This was an important part of our strategenization (I think that’s what they call it over at NOW THAT’S WHAT I CALL MUSIC when they are picking tracks for their albums). There would obviously be some songs we could NOT condone at a Wedding Reception. To name just a few: “We do NOT condone: The Ketchup Song; Whigfield; Cotton Eyed Jo.”

Am I the only one who remembers when Jambo sung Mustang Sally this on Hollyoaks?

Am I the only one who remembers when Jambo sang Mustang Sally on Hollyoaks?

Although, to be honest, one I’ve had a few I wouldn’t mind a bit of Cotton Eyed Jo so it might be allowed if the DJ felt the ‘mood’ was right.

Sweet Caroline and Mustang Sally (The Caz) both got the nod – “as long as ‘that man’ – you know the one don’t you – is under no circumstances given the microphone from the DJ during Mustang Sally.”

Cheer up sleepy Jean is HAPPENNING (Ben) and perhaps some Build Me Up Buttercup (The Caz).

Ben: Boy GeorgeKarma Chameleon.

The Caz: Van Morrison, Brown Eyed Girl too I expect?

Ben: Have we done The Police (Everything Little Thing She Does Is Magic) yet?

The Caz: Don’t Stop Me Now by Queen?

Ben: Jackson 5 – I want you Back.

Some discussion did ensue about the controversy of this not being Blame it On The Boogie but, we just could not encourage the dance routine taking place in public en masse.

We finished, as greatly as we began, on Stevie WonderSuperstition. I take the credit for that one.

If this is wrong, I don;t ever wanna be right

If this is wrong, I don’t ever wanna be right

So, there you have it, NOW THAT’S WHAT I CALL WEDDING RECEPTION is almost complete. I say almost because, having reviewed one of my actual NOW albums at home (NOW 34 no less – a classic – any album that includes Mysterious Girl by Peter Andre AND Ooh Ah Just A Little Bit by Gina G ticks all the boxes) I was slightly surprised to find there were a staggering 42 songs.

Basically, we’ve come up with the first CD which, everyone knows, is the best one.

CD 1 is below – please do comment to suggest the songs you would like to see complete the compilation on CDs 2 & 3.

  1. ‘People-all-over-the-world…join hands….start a love train, a love train’
  2. Come On Eileen
  3. Ride On Time – Black Box
  4. Grease Megamix
  5. Jive Bunny
  6. Sweet Caroline
  7. Mustang Sally
  8. Cheer Up Sleepy Jean
  9. Build Me Up Buttercup
  10. Boy George – Karma Chameleon
  11. Van Morrison – Brown Eyed Girl
  12. Police – Everything Little Thing She Does Is Magic
  13. Don’t Stop Me Now – Queen
  14. Jackson 5 – I Want You Back
  15. Stevie Wonder – Superstition

Secret Track (if you play CD1 backwards after track 42, for 17.32 seconds)

5 thoughts on “NOW THAT’S WHAT I CALL WEDDING RECEPTION

  1. Richard Gale says:

    I would love to hear a bit of Wham! Also, seeing as you’re desperate to know, something by Slade. Wonderwall too, even if it has to be Mike Flowers and his Pops.

    • benmblackman says:

      Good work Richard M Gale. I’m going to approve Wham! (Ideally Careless Whisper but, I think that’s about having an affair so, not really appropriate for a wedding reception, so – perhaps we can agree on Wake Me up before you go go. Keep the atmosphere positive eh).

  2. Kool and the Gang – Celebration
    Earth Wind and Fire – Fantasy
    Pulp – Common People
    BEE GEES.

    +1 for the Grease Megamix 👍💃

  3. Sarah Carroll says:

    Young Hearts Run Free – Candy Staton (some may say inappropriate for a wedding… but they are WRONG.)
    Black Legend – Barry White
    Wham – Club Tropicana

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

