No TV by Mrs B

Leave a comment

July 22, 2015 by benmblackman

I am sure it hasn’t gone unnoticed that I take quality control here at Red Trouser Days pretty seriously. Except for when I’ve written 2 blogs in 2 days, have had a ‘couple’ of glasses of wine and Mrs B suggests she will write the next one.

To be honest, it was her who told me to start blogging a few years ago and I’ve just realised this will be my 79th so – it’s about time she helped out a bit.

So, without further ado – the one and only, Mrs B. Considering how much wine she had drunk when she wrote this I have to say I was more than pleasantly surprised when I read it back.


the girls

Mrs B, The Calpol Kid, and The Boss. Mrs B is the one in the middle.

 

No TV, be careful what you start to look at instead…

A bit of a hippy at heart, when Mr B suggested getting rid of the TV it appealed to the anarchist in me. Ok, maybe I’m more of a hippy rather than anarchist. Either way, only dead fish go with the flow, so of course I said yes.

We never actually call each other Mrs B or Mr B in real life - you must understand that I hope?

We never actually call each other Mrs B or Mr B in real life – you must understand that I hope?

The biggest thing this has meant for me, is that it made me realise how much actual ‘stuff’ we accumulate. I think it took getting rid of one large, standard TV sized object in my life to unearth my irrational attachment to everything else.

Don’t get me wrong – I LOVE ‘stuff’. I’m a marketing consultant – I get paid to work out how to sell ‘stuff’. ‘Stuff’ rules…at least I thought it did.

You see the funny thing about giving up our nightly ritual of channel flicking and subsequent phone using whilst watching (lets be honest here) utter shite that you wouldn’t actually pay to sit down and watch [um, please don’t tell her how much we used to pay for Sky anyone] meant that I was filling time with quite a bit of a dead activity. I’m a lady of ambition, I have craft activities that need finishing, I have projects in my head that need realising, I have books that need reading but mostly, more than anything else, I have a load of shite that needs shifting.

Well if you insist - I suppose you could click here and read about one of the CONSTANT eBay missions she sends me on

Well if you insist – I suppose you could click here and read about one of the CONSTANT eBay missions she sends me on.

I turned to Ebay, and in turn engaged with the weird ancient tradition of barter and selling (cue some links to Mr B’s previous blogs no doubt). It felt slightly overwhelming but at the same time cathartic. I have the head space and time to look at how we are living, what we are using and what we have use for. I have time to decide if I really LOVE something or if it can be a step towards the camera Mr B says we don’t actually really need (we do need it). [We don’t need it.]

Giving up TV for me has led to an increased awareness of what we are doing in the evening and our lives. I know that sounds a rather massive statement but for the first time in ages the jobs that have made a massive difference have been done, conversations about the future, present and past are being had, it’s a life affirming, ebaytastic time that I’m quite enjoying.

The house is clearer and (apart from the odd too many glasses of vino) so is my head. Just because of no TV? Who knows… but I like it.


Stay tuned for the next instalment.

“…all seems to be going swimmingly, until I realise it’s me doing school and nursery pick-up – and we have no TV!”

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

